News & Blog

Euan McFarlane Nominations Due: 31 March 2014

Posted on January 3, 2014

The attachment to this post provides details on the 2014 competition for the Euan McFarlane Environmental Leadership for the Insular Caribbean that you can download, print and post.


The information is repeated below —



 The Euan P. McFarlane Award was established in 1987 to provide recognition for persons demonstrating initiative, resourcefulness and leadership in promoting conservation and enhancement of the environment in the insular Caribbean, with priority given to the smaller islands of the eastern Caribbean.

 Euan P. McFarlane, after whom this award was named, was until his death in 1983 actively involved in en­vironmental causes in the Caribbean.  He was a former Treasurer and Board Member of the Caribbean Conservation Association, a Trustee of the Island Resources Foundation, and a founding member of the St. Croix Landmarks Society. Endowment funding for the award has been provided by the late Laurance S. Rockefeller (and subsequently with endorsement by the estate of Mr. Rockefeller), and the award program is administered by Island Resources Foundation, an independent, not-for-profit NGO dedicated to strengthening environmental planning for the development of small island states.

 Nominees for the McFarlane Award should be persons who have applied themselves to the preservation of the natural or built environment on one or more of the small islands of the Caribbean and whose career or avocation demonstrates an appreciation of and support for the advancement of environmental stewardship and balanced development in the Caribbean.


 1988           Mr. Yves Renard
St. Lucia

1989           Mr. Mervin Williams
St. Lucia

1990           Mr. Ronald Charles, Dominica
                   Mr. Arlington James, Dominica

1991           Ms. Alissandra Cummins

1992-93       Mr. Kevel Lindsay
Antigua and Barbuda

1994-95       Mr. Jalaludin Ahmad Khan
Trinidad and Tobago

1996-97       Mr. Reginald Murphy
Antigua and Barbuda

Mr. Maurice Widdowson
St. Kitts and Nevis

1998           Mr. Andrew Simpson
St. Croix, US Virgin Islands

1999           Mr. Ian Lambie
Trinidad and Tobago

2000           Mr. David Robinson
St. Kitts and Nevis

2001           Mr. Charles Chavoudiga

2002           Jacqueline and Larry Armony
St. Kitts and Nevis

2003           Dr. Brian Cooper
Antigua and Barbuda

2004           Dr. Joth Singh

2005           Ms. Diana McCaulay

 2006           Mr. Raymond Walker (posthumously)
British Virgin Islands

 2007           Dr. I. Earle A Kirby (posthumously)
St. Vincent and the Grenadines

2008-09       Mr. Rueben J. Thompson
Sint Maarten

2010           Mr. Albert Hugh “Errol” Harris

2011-12       Mr. Karim Hodge

2013           Ms. Patricia Turpin
Tobago, Federation of Trinidad & Tobago


Any resident of a Caribbean island is eligible for nomination, although priority consideration will be given to residents of the smaller eastern Caribbean islands. Any interested individual or organization familiar with the nominee may make a nomination.  Self-nominations will not be accepted.


Each selected McFarlane Award recipient will receive a US$1,000 cash award (there are no restrictions on the use of the award).


Nominations should consist of a letter application from the nominator, not to exceed three single-spaced typed pages, stating the background, accomplishments, and merits of the person nominated.  The nominator must supply the names, addresses, telephone numbers and email addresses of at least 3 other persons familiar with the nominee’s work and accomplishments, who could be contacted for additional information.  Attachments that support the nomination (e.g., press clippings, testimonials, copies of publications, letters of endorsement, etc.) may accompany the letter but are not required and cannot be returned.


Nominations will be reviewed by an impartial committee of individuals familiar with the region, and the award will be based on an assessment of how well the nominee meets some or all of the following:

  • Nominee’s role in increasing public awareness about conservation issues.
  • Nominee’s achievements in helping to formulate public policy that balances economic development objectives with sustainable development goals.
  • Nominee’s accomplishments in strengthening public or private sector institutions and organizations concerned with conservation, preservation, or resource management issues.
  • Nominee’s role in developing, promoting, or assisting programs or policies which conserve or protect key elements of the natural or built environment in the Caribbean.
  • Nominee’s potential for future environmental leadership in the insular Caribbean.

 Send Nominations To: 

Euan P. McFarlane Environmental Leadership Award
Attention: Bruce Potter

Island Resources Foundation
1718 P Street Northwest, #T-4
Washington, DC 20036
Fax: 202.232.0748    ¨

Nominations must be postmarked by,
or emailed or faxed no later than, 31st March 2014


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *